If you ever whining the following thing about your toddler kid, then this post is for you.

“I have bought so many toys for my toddler baby. But he never wants to play with them. Always made a mess then wants to explore the house other than his play area”.

It’s my usual whining about sh2. He always wants to explore more. So the same toys are boring to him. I stored all the toys in big bins and whenever I tried to make him play with them he overturns the bins and spills the toys all over the room. At the end, don’t want to play with a single thing.

I am tired of this. I don’t know how to make him play. Then, recently I saw this book in the library and took it immediately.

This book changes the entire perspective of my approach.

5109mY0BOLL._SX258_BO1,204,203,200_

What is Montessori?

The google answer is “A system of education for young children that seeks to develop natural interests and activities rather than use formal teaching methods”

My understanding is rather than controlling them not to touch, use, play with the things given them a chance to play with those things safely. Allow them to do things on their own. And provide a safe environment for that.

How to create a Montessori environment at home?

You no need to buy expensive Montessori toys or redecorate your home according to that. The simple changes and DIY playthings would make a huge difference. I can’t and don’t know whether I can use the Montessori method in each and everything(Kitchen and bathroom areas). But I wanted to try and so did try with the toys. And to my surprise, it worked out. So what did I change?

How do you organize your toddler toys?

  • The first thing I learned is, don’t store your kid’s toys in bins or boxes. (I have stored the toys in bins). The cluster of things makes their mind not to focus.
  • Pack all your kids toys and put them somewhere.
  • Buy 4 or 5 colorful trays.
  • Fill each tray with different kind of toys.
  • Fill one tray with a non-toy object which your kid wants to play( It may be a bowl with spoon, or a cup of water, or a pan with spatula etc)
  • Keep these open trays in a low-level shelf where they can reach them.( you can set it up in a small area of your hall or in your kid’s room ). Now it is the Montessori area.
  • For the low-level shelf, you no need to buy a new one. If you have a small coffee table with low shelves that would do . that is what I am using as of now.
  • Picture_20170511_212149937
  • Now watch your kid play with the setup.
  • Change the toys each day. Don’t forget to fill at least one tray with natural stuff ( stone, feather, pebble etc) or kitchen aids or anything interest to your kid other than books and toys.
  • Teach them how to put the toys back in trays after finishing their play. (To my surprise sh2 did this by himself.  🙂    )

It was a huge hit. He was playing with this more than an hour.He likes it so much.

 

The next day morning after waking up he went straight to this table to check the toys. And was happy to see the new set of toys and playthings. It has been 3 days in a row. He kind of getting used with this setup now and eagerly waiting to see the new set of toys each morning.I don’t know how long he gonna be interested in this. But I am gonna try as much as possible. Will update the daily activities and DIY things frequently. It’s worth a try.

So try this with your toddler and let me know about it in the comments.

Click here for Activity Day 2

Like this post? Consider following my blog…

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

would really appreciate your rating.Kindly take a time to rate this article. Thanks in advance.

Feel free to share.The sharing icons are below..